the national website of Interpretation Canada

Entry Requirements, Deadlines, and Fees

Entry Requirements, Deadlines, and Fees  |  Category Requirements  | Award Winners and Examples

Gold, silver and bronze awards as well as honourable mentions are presented annually or biennially in both personal and non-personal, and sometimes other, interpretation categories.

Sought after by interpreters across Canada, these annual awards recognize excellence in cultural, natural and historical interpretation!

Certificates for winners will be issued to up to four individuals

Certificate for organization hosting the interpretation project to hang on the wall in a public space

2016 Awards competition now open! Deadline for submissions is December 31, 2016!

Collect video and photos to support your submission! Interpretation professionals will evaluate entries for substance, originality, and achievement of interpretation objectives based on Tilden’s Principles and the materials and documentation you supply. Submissions are evaluated on their own merit and are judged against the work submitted by peers. All are fairly considered. Winners will be announced in the spring of 2017.



Every entry in the 2016 Awards of Excellence must have been presented or implemented in Canada between October 1, 2015 and December 31, 2016. 


Entrants must have copyright permission to submit their entries.


The competition is open to all: individuals and organizations, Interpretation Canada members and non-members alike.


How To Enter


Step 1. Pay entry fee online via credit card.

Member: $70.00 + GST= $73.50

entrant must be a current IC member in good standing (the individual submitting the entry)

Non-Member: $130 + GST= $136.50

includes a one-year individual professional membership

Changes: $40.00 + GST=$42.00

payable when name changes on certificates are requested after winners are announced


Step 2. Send your entry submission electronically to If you cannot submit electronically, please contact the awards chair at for information on how to submit. 


Entries must follow category requirements and have been received by 3 pm MST, December 31, 2016 to be eligible.